URGENT Call for Donations: Blood Banks in Newcastle

Newcastle blood donations to Australian Red Cross Blood Service

Image courtesy of Australian Red Cross Blood Service

Donating blood is a very special gift and could change someone’s life.  It is a scary statistic that 1 in 3 people will need a blood donation at some point during their life span and given the size of the average Australian family, that could very well be somebody you love.  The Australian Red Cross is urgently calling for people to donate blood. They currently have less than two days worth of emergency O negative (O-) blood type.  This blood type is used to save the lives of people who don’t know their blood type, making it incredibly rare and valuable.

The Donormobile will be hitting many locations across Newcastle and the Hunter in the coming months.  This is your chance to help make a difference to someone’s life.

Most people are able to give blood if:

  • are fit, healthy and not suffering from a cold, flu or other illness at the time of donation or in the previous 7 days
  • are aged between 16-70 years
  • weigh more than 45kg (16-17 year olds need to weigh more than 50kg)
  • drink up in the 24 hours before donation, especially in warm weather, and have at least 3 to 4 good-sized glasses of water/juice in the 3 hours before donating (plasma and platelet donor need to drink at least 6 to 8 glasses)
  • eat something in the 3 hours before donating
  • bring ID. Please bring at least one form of photo identification.

These are just a selection of the opportunities you’ll have to donate blood in the next 2 months. For more information, see the Australian Red Cross website.

1

Swansea

Josephson St (Woolworths Carpark)

Thurs, 9 June 1 - 6pm; Fri, 10 June - Sat, 11 June 10am - 3pm

-33.085667 151.637825
2

Belmont Citi Centre

Macquarie Street Belmont

Mon, 6 June 9am - 3pm; Tues, 7 June - Thurs, 9 June 1pm - 7pm; Fri, 10 June 9am - 3pm

-33.03091945000128 151.65136814117432
3

Stockland Wallsend

Cowper St Wallsend

Wed, 20 July - Thurs, 21 July 1 - 7pm; Fri, 22 July 9:30am - 3pm

-32.898038181605216 151.6570544242859
4

Stockton Surf Life Saving Club

Pitt St Stockton

Fri, 29 July 9:30am - 2:30pm

-32.91643130849733 151.78781747817993
5

Toronto Workers Club

9 James Street Toronto

Mon, 27 June - Thurs, 30 June 1pm - 6:30pm; Fri, 1 July 9:30am - 3:30pm

-33.00553245677147 151.58100843429565
6

Charlestown

Pearson St (Opposite Kmart Tyre & Auto)

Mon, 20 June - Wed, 22 June 10am - 4pm; Thurs, 23 June 1 - 6pm; Fri, 24 June 10am - 4pm

-32.95997588925351 151.6843056678772
7

Valentine Lions Club

Allambee Park Valentine

Mon, 11 July - Wed, 13 July 1 - 7pm

-32.99945000822837 151.61416053771973
8

Cardiff Bowling Club

Myall Road Cardiff

Fri, 17 June 9:30am - 2:30pm; Mon, 25 July - Tues, 26 July 1:30 - 6:30pm; Wed, 27 July 9:30am - 2:30pm

-32.941393728082794 151.6564965248108
9

Stockland Glendale

Lake Road Glendale

Donormobile will be located adjacent to Amcal Chemist. Tues, 5 July 10am - 3pm; Wed, 6 July - Thurs, 7 July 1 - 6pm; Fri, 8 July 9am - 2pm

-32.924446705825645 151.62038326263428
10

Waratah Village Shopping Centre

Turton Road Waratah

Thurs, 14 July 1 - 6pm; Fri, 15 July 10am - 3pm

-32.90798283436307 151.72732830047607

A Communication student at the University of Newcastle, Kathleen has a true passion for Public Relations and Marketing, a passion that has cultivated over the years and turned into an obsession. Kathleen thinks of herself as a dream chaser, stopping at nothing to achieve her goals. She loves to travel and spent a year living and working in Brighton, England. Her most random job includes working on a cotton farm!

Leave a comment

Information on this featured background image
Information on this featured background image
© 2018 Urban Insider | Terms of Use

SEO by Sticky | Created by Sticky